Breyers Ice Cream Scam

I just went to the local Fry’s store because my wife asked me nicely if I would go buy some ice cream. It wasn’t on my mind, but I thought, “Why not?”

I assume you are aware that most ice cream brands have for some time been offering ice cream in 1.75 quart-sized containers. Instead of raising their prices, they lower the quantity they sell. Same thing, but it burns me all the same. I want to buy ice cream in a half-gallon size, just like when I was a kid.

Well, I went to the Fry’s and made a beeline for the ice-cream isle. The Breyers was on sale! In fact, most of the Breyers was gone. I found a container of neapolitan, looking so lonely on this nearly bare shelf. But, when I picked it up something seemed amiss. The container seemed smaller. Not smaller than a half gallon. Smaller than 1.75 quarts!

They did it again, the fuckers! They shrank the container to 1.5 quarts! Give me a half-gallon, for gosh sakes, and put an appropriate price on it. I would rather they be up front about the price inflation, than to take the more deceptive path of slightly shrinking the container and hoping I won’t notice.

I was so angry, I bought the cheaper house brand because at least it had 1.75 quarts. Take notice Breyers!

It’s like potato chips. They sell these snack sized chips out of machines. Used to be they had 2.5 ounces, then 2 ounces. Then they dropped it to 1.5 ounces. It really gets me angry when they don’t shrink the size of the package, they just put less in the package. All the while, the price has been going up. 25 cents…50 cents…75 cents…85 cents! Now, they have 1 ounce packs of potato chips for 85 cents where I work! That’s when I started packing more fruit with my lunches. I also began to buy snacks ahead of time. The last thing I want to do is put a buck in a machine, get back a few cents, and get a bag of chips — no, make that a bag with a chip. “Chips” is plural, and by definition needs to come in a bag bigger than an ounce.

My wife and I have been becoming more and more interested in the concept of local food, and eating locally. I know that complaining about junk food is pretty far from eating locally. But, it got me thinking. We have a vegetable garden and fruit trees. I began to bake bread because of the rising costs. Maybe I will start making my own ice cream. Take notice food industry! I will find someone who is raising milk locally. Maybe even goat’s milk. And I’ll make my own ice cream, rather than put up with your deceptive packaging, your inflated prices, the shitty conditions under which most of the cows are raised, the growth hormones you feed to your cows and refuse to put on your labels.

It’s not like I eat ice cream that often, either.

Is anyone raising goats or cows near the Tempe area? I would like to buy some milk and try my hand at making my own ice cream. Seriously, if you know someone from which I can buy some locally produced milk, I want to give this a try.

3 Responses

  1. Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  2. yeah. this Breyer’s ice cream scam is as insidious as the voter fraud that took place in 2000 and 2004. Personally, I think they are connected somehow. I think that Breyer’s actually is a subsidiary of Diebold, the company that makes the voting machines that had major security holes that were easily exploited to give Bush the election both times. They’re all in cahoots. It’s very much like how Microsoft is actually receiving kickbacks from Samsung as their software requires massively increasing amounts of memory year after year thus enabling the memory manufacturer to quadruple their profits.

  3. On that note, there’s also the scam perpetrated by the washing machine companies. They agree to receive kickbacks from the sock manufacturers by secretly putting little trap doors inside the machine. At random times, the door opens and a sock is sucked into a hidden compartment where it remains forever. The washing machine owner is none the wiser, and just chalks up the disappearing socks to early senility. The sock companies sell more socks, and send some money to the washing machine companies to keep up the good work on the trap doors. Free market be danged.

Leave a Reply

