You Never Know Who Is Reading Your Blog

A week ago I posted to this blog about my experience in corresponding with John McCain’s office.  I pointed out his complete lack of responsiveness, and highlighted Jon Kyl’s office for being unusually responsive to communications from constituents.

Flash forward to this past Sunday.  I came home and realized the mail had not been checked the day before.  I opened my mailbox and found a letter from Jon Kyl’s office.  I assumed it was junk mail.  Either some general communication to the residents of Arizona, or more probably, a solicitation for money since I had recently registered Republican in order to vote for Ron Paul in the primaries.

I found, to my surprise, that it was a personal communication from Jon Kyl himself about my blog.  You can read it here.  The only alteration I made to the scan was to remove my street address before sharing it.

Letter From Jon Kyl

Thank you, too, Senator Kyl, for you kind words. I’m impressed!

What I found particularly surprising about this is that I just started this blog, and to-date have under one hundred hits. It just goes to show the power of the internet as a tool for communication. You really don’t know, when you post something, who will read it.

It also goes to show that Kyl is unusually responsive. I didn’t write my piece for him, or communicate to him that I had done so. He still responded. Almost spooky. I wonder if “[o]ne of your readers” is some computer system digesting the blogosphere in the bowels of Langley? Hmm.

However, while I am on the topic of Senator Kyl’s letter, I also wanted to speak to this quote:

It just goes to show that reasonable people can communicate thoughtfully and respectfully, even when they might disagree about underlying issues.

When the issues are taxes and public policy, yes.  But, when the underlying issue is an illegal invasion of a country that posed no risk to our wellbeing, it is hard to be reasonable.  This war has cost us thousands of American lives, and the lives of hundreds of thousands of Iraqi lives.  For what noble cause?

Leave a Reply

